State Overtime Laws
Iowa Overtime Laws
Unpaid Overtime Law in Iowa
Many Iowa workers are denied the wages that they are owed under Federal and Iowa law. If you are an Iowa worker who has been unlawfully denied overtime, you have the right to participate in a lawsuit against your employer. Iowa overtime lawyers can help you recover what you are owed.
Fill out the short form on this page for help today. This Iowa overtime review is entirely free.
Detailed Iowa Overtime Laws
Iowa Minimum Wage & Overtime Quick Facts
- The minimum wage in Iowa is $7.25 per hour.
- The Iowa minimum wage for tipped employees is $4.35. If tips plus the direct wage does not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.
- Employees can receive an initial employment wage of $6.35 per hour during the first 90 days of employment.
- Iowa does not have state laws regarding overtime. Iowa law states that overtime should only be provided when included in an employment agreement or employee contract.
Iowa Wage and Hour Law
Iowa wage and hour law sets restrictions for minimum wage, overtime pay, child labor, record keeping and other important workplace issues. To find out if your company must comply with Iowa wage and hour law, visit our Iowa wage and hour section.
Iowa Wage and Hour FAQs
More information on Iowa overtime law and minimum wage, visit our Iowa wage and hour FAQ page.
For More Information, visit the Iowa Department of Labor Website