State Overtime Laws
Michigan Overtime Laws
Unpaid Overtime Law in Michigan
Many Michigan workers are denied the wages that they are owed under Federal and Michigan law. If you are an Michigan worker who has been unlawfully denied overtime, you have the right to participate in a lawsuit against your employer. Michigan overtime lawyers can help you recover what you are owed.
Fill out the short form on this page for help today. This Michigan overtime review is entirely free.
Detailed Michigan Overtime Laws
Michigan Overtime & Minimum Wage Law Basics
- The minimum wage law in Michigan is $7.40 for workers who are at least 16 years old. This minimum wage took effect on July 24, 2009.
- When both federal and Michigan minimum wage laws apply, workers should receive the higher minimum wage.
- Workers under the age of 16 may receive 80% of the current minimum wage.
- Non-exempt workers should receive time-and-half compensation (1.5 times their regular rate) for hours worked over 40 in a workweek.
- Michigan overtime and minimum wage laws apply to companies with at least two employees who are over 16 years of age.
Michigan Wage and Hour FAQs
For more information on Michigan labor law and overtime law, visit our Michigan wage and hour FAQ page.
For More Information, visit the Michigan Department of Labor Website