State Overtime Laws
Michigan Wage and Hour FAQs
Michigan Overtime, Wage and Hour Questions
Back to Michigan Overtime Law
Can my employer deduct wages from my paycheck if my cash drawer came up short?
Michigan wage and hour law states that employers cannot deduct from employee wages without their written authorization, obtained without pressure or intimidation from the employer. Deductions cannot result in the employee being paid less than the minimum wage.
Can my employer withhold my paycheck as a disciplinary measure?
No. All wages must be paid to the employee on the next regularly scheduled payday.
If I work 40 hours per week, am I considered a full-time employee?
Michigan wage and hour law does not establish definitions for “full-time” and “part-time” employees. However, employers often define these terms to determine eligibility for benefits. If an employer establishes definitions for “full-time” and “part-time” employees, they must offer benefits in accordance with their written policy.
Am I entitled to a meal break or rest period?
Employees ages 18 and under must receive a 30-minute, uninterrupted rest period when working five or more consecutive hours. Adult employees are not entitled to meal or rest breaks under Michigan wage and hour law. If an employer chooses to enact their own break policy, the employee must be completely relieved of their job duties or they must be paid for this time.
Am I entitled to extra pay when working on a holiday?
Employers are not required to offer additional pay for holiday work. However, if the company has a written policy offering extra pay to employees working holidays, they must comply with this policy.
Can I be forced to work overtime?
Yes. Michigan employers can require their employees to work overtime. However, non-exempt employees should receive time-and-a-half compensation for this time.
What is the maximum amount of hours employees can be required to work during a single workweek?
While hour restrictions exist for minors, adult employees can be required to work as many hours as the employer deems necessary. The employer can require an employee to report to work when needed, or send them home if business is slow. Michigan wage and hour law does not set “minimum” or “maximum” hours an employee can work per week.
Should I be compensated for training time?
Job training is considered hours worked and should be paid accordingly. New employees ages 16 to 19 can receive a training wage of $4.25 per hour during their initial 90 calendar days of employment.
Should I be paid for unused vacation time upon leaving my job?
Employers are required to comply with their written policies regarding fringe benefits. If the employer has a written policy stating that employees should receive compensation for their unused vacation time upon separation, the company is obligated to comply with this policy. If no such policy exists, the employer is not legally obligated to pay their workers for unused vacation time. The same applies for unused sick days.
If an employee is laid off, quits or is fired, when should they be paid their final wages?
These employees must be paid on the next regularly scheduled payday.